Reinforced surveillance system, teams on alert in the face of the Omicron threat


Even as the state recorded 135 new cases and one death, bringing the number of cases to 675,614 and the toll to 3,989, the Telangana government said on Sunday it had beefed up the surveillance system and alerted teams in the face of growing concerns about the threat of the novel coronavirus. Omicron variant.

State Director of Public Health G Srinivasa Rao said the new variant of Omicron has been detected in South Africa, Botswana, Hong Kong and some European countries and, as a result, passengers fully vaccinated arriving from there will be quarantined at home and monitored.

Tests will be done on those who are unvaccinated or partially vaccinated and samples will be sent to the CDFD lab for genome sequencing if anyone tests positive, he said.

A health ministry bulletin said active cases in the state stood at 3,535. The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation reported the highest number of cases (62), followed by the districts of Rangareddy (11) and from Karimnagar (10). A total of 22,356 samples were tested today, bringing the cumulative number of samples examined to 2,85,11,075.

A total of 144 Covid-19 recoveries were reported, bringing the total number of recoveries to 6,68,090. The cure rate and case fatality rate in the state were 98.88% and 0.59%, respectively, according to the bulletin.

Additionally, Andhra Pradesh reported 178 new cases of Covid-19 on Sunday, bringing the total to just over 20.72 lakh, while six deaths brought the toll to 14,438. Healings outnumbered new cases, with 190 people cured of the virus, leaving 2,140 active cases, according to a bulletin from the Ministry of Health.

Guntur killed two, while Chittoor, Krishna, Nellore and Visakhapatnam each recorded one death. In the past 24 hours ending at 9 a.m. on Sunday, 27,657 samples have been tested, according to the bulletin.

Meanwhile, variant B.1.1.529, designated as a ‘variant of concern’ by the WHO on Friday, sparked a new wave of restrictions on travelers from various southern African countries by countries like the United States. , Canada, Brazil, Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Saudi Arabia, Brazil and the European Union.

To subscribe to Mint newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now !!

Source link


Comments are closed.